Sunday, January 29, 2023
HomeBusiness Travel| Wednesday’s Winter Solstice Marks Shortest Day of the YearFrequent Enterprise Traveler

| Wednesday’s Winter Solstice Marks Shortest Day of the YearFrequent Enterprise Traveler




The long-lasting Zwiebeltürme of Munich’s Frauenkirche at sundown

Tomorrow, Wednesday, December 21, marks the winter solstice, the day of the 12 months with longest night time and fewest hours of daylight within the Northern Hemisphere. The solstice is an astronomical phenomenon the place the northern portion of the Earth’s axis is tilted furthest away from the solar, and takes place on the identical time all over the place on earth.

In 2022, the solstice will happen at 4:47 p.m. EST, therefore 3:47p.m. CST, 2:47 p.m. MST, and 1:47 p.m. PST throughout the USA, and at 10:47 p.m. Central European Time At that on the spot, the solar shall be straight overhead on the Tropic of Capricorn, or 23.5° south latitude.

Consequently, the winter solstice is the day with the shortest interval of daylight within the Northern Hemisphere.

In the USA and plenty of different international locations north of the Equator, the winter solstice marks the primary day of winter. Nonetheless, meteorological winter started on December 1, as, in accordance with the meteorological definition, the seasons start on the primary day of the months that embrace the equinoxes and solstices.

Within the Southern Hemisphere, Wednesday is the summer season solstice; the winter solstice takes place on June 21.   In international locations south of the equator, Wednesday is the longest day of the 12 months.

It’s necessary to notice that, simply because December 21 is the shortest day within the Northern Hemisphere, it doesn’t translate into the day on which a lot of the Northern Hemisphere experiences its earliest sundown or newest dawn. For these in New York Metropolis, for instance, the earliest sundown occurred on December 8 at 4:27 p.m. though it occurred on December 10 in Munich at 4:19 p.m. native time.

The sundown on December 21 will happen at 4:32 p.m.  in New York Metropolis. At 9 hours and quarter-hour, the day shall be 5 hours and 50 minutes shorter than on June 21, the summer season solstice.

The farther north one travels, the quantity of daylight will diminish precipitously. The town of Rovaniemi, the capital of Finland’s northern-most province, Lapland, will solely have two hours and 14 minutes of daylight on Wednesday, whereas Reykjavik in Iceland will see a beneficiant 4 hours and 7 minutes.

In the meantime, many individuals will collect at Stonehenge in southern England, believed to have been erected to have a good time celestial occasions comparable to solstices and equinoxes, and elsewhere throughout the globe to have a good time the day, which was additionally Brumalia, a winter pageant in historic Rome; Koliada, a pre-Christian Slavic winter pageant; and Xmas, a pageant noticed by the historic Germanic folks.

(Picture: Accura Media Group)



RELATED ARTICLES

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments